Monday, May 7, 2012

Putin Sworn In For Six Years As Russia Leader

Vladimir Putin has been sworn in as Russia's president once again, for a six-year term.

The former KGB agent has spent the last four years as the country's prime minister, alongside president Dmitry Medvedev.

Before that, he served two terms as Russia's president, first elected in 2000.

His inauguration follows opposition protests around the Kremlin - but numbers at the demonstrations were not as high as those for mass demos before the elections.

Yesterday's protest turned violent when police in riot gear beat back crowds trying to reach the Kremlin. More than 400 people were detained, including some opposition leaders. Read More